top of page
Search
  • louiseshenstone5

Designs coming to life!

In February I gave you a little teaser from my design concept. The hexagons are my reference to coal and steel and their importance to the Rhondda Valleys. I wanted to steer clear of the pithead imagery that is so often used and so looked much closer...at the molecular structure of these materials, it turns out that hexagons were common to both. As a result, these shapes form re-occuring patterns throughout the designs over all floors, changing colour to reflect the colour indicator for a given floor.

Below is the first design (that I was happy with...many more came before!) and is a digital collage of all sorts of influences, references and ideas from pinhole images people made, collages completed from my packs, photographs and information for Pontypridd Museum.



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page